On behalf of Michael A. Gottlieb, P.A. posted in drug possession on Friday, June 2, 2017.
Drug possession laws in Florida make it a criminal offense to possess certain drugs without authorization within the country. For example, without a medical marijuana ID, it is illegal for people to carry marijuana within the state of Florida. Without a prescription, it is illegal to carry an opiate drug, like hydrocodone.
There are a few different possession charges you could face depending on what you were doing at the time of the arrest. If you intended to sell the drugs, you could be charged with possession with the intent to sell. If you are charged with this crime, the prosecution needs to show that you intended to sell or distribute the drugs beyond a reasonable doubt to get the conviction.
Depending on the drug in your possession, you can face anything from a misdemeanor to a first-degree felony. For example, if you are found in possession of over 20 grams of marijuana illegally, then you can face a third-degree felony charge.
On the other hand, if you are found in possession of less than 20 grams of marijuana, you may only face a first-degree misdemeanor charge. You can still face up to a year in jail plus court costs if you are charged and convicted of a first-degree misdemeanor. Those facing a first-degree felony could face 30 years in prison and $250,000 in fines for the conviction.
Fortunately, you are able to defend yourself, and your attorney can help. By reviewing your case for flaws that the authorities or prosecution has made, your attorney can help you build a strong defense.
Source: FindLaw, “Florida Drug Possession Laws,” accessed June 02, 2017