On behalf of Michael A. Gottlieb, P.A. posted in drunk driving on Friday, February 2, 2018.
Many people think that ignition interlock devices (IIDs) are used only in very serious DUI cases. However, this is not true. If you have been charged with drinking and driving in Florida, a judge may order you to install an ignition interlock device, even if it’s a first offense.
According to Florida statutes, an IID is required in the following circumstances:
- First offense – If the judge orders it
- First conviction with 0.15 percent BAL (blood alcohol level) or with a minor child in the vehicle – Minimum of six months
- Second conviction – Minimum of one year
- Second conviction with 0.15 percent BAL or with a minor child in the vehicle – Minimum of two years
- Third conviction – Minimum of two years
- Four or more convictions – Minimum of five years
How does an IID work?
An ignition interlock device is essentially a Breathalyzer test machine. To start the vehicle, the driver must blow into the device. If the driver’s BAL is over 0.025 percent, the car will not start. In addition, the driver may have to blow into the IID while driving to prove they are sober. The IID reports the results of each test to the state. Failing a test may result in additional penalties.
Ignition interlock devices are also costly. In addition to the installation fee, you will pay monthly calibration and monitoring fees of approximately $70-$80.
Driving with an IID is not ideal, but is there a silver lining? While there are many disadvantages to having an IID, it does allow people to restore their driving privileges sooner.